Baseball in the 1920’s


Babe Ruth

          Born: 1895 – Pigtown (a neighborhood in Baltimore) Maryland.

          Lifetime batting average .342

          First major major league game played at age 19 

          Last major league game played at age 40 

256px-Babe_Ruth2

Babe Ruth Quotations:

“Don’t let the fear of striking out hold you back.”

“Every strike brings me closer to the next home run.”

“I didn’t mean to hit the umpire with the dirt,but I did mean to hit that bastard in the stands.”

***

Lou Gehrig

          Born: 1903 – East Harlem, Manhattan

          Lifetime batting average .340

          First major major league game played at age 20 

          Last major league game played at age 36 

Lou Gehrig 1

Lou Gehrig Quotations:

“The ballplayer who loses his head, who can’t keep his cool, is worse than no ballplayer at all.”

“There is no room in baseball for discrimination. It is our national pastime and a game for all.”

“I’m not a headline guy. I know that as long as I was following Ruth to the plate I could have stood on my head and no one would have known the difference.”

***

Mel Ott

          Born: 1909 – Gretna, Louisiana

          Lifetime batting average .304

          First major major league game played at age 17 

          Last major league game played at age 38 

Mel Ott

Mel Ott Quotations:

“Yogi seemed to be doing everything wrong, yet everything came out right.”

“He stopped everything behind the plate and hit everything in front of it.”

***

Ty Cobb

          Born: 1886 – Narrows, Georgia

          Lifetime batting average .366

          First major major league game played at age 19 

          Last major league game played at age 42 

Ty Cobb

Ty Cobb Quotations:

“I had to fight all my life to survive. They were all against me… but I beat the bastards and left them in the ditch.”

“The great trouble with baseball today is that most of the players are in the game for the money and that’s it, not for the love of it, the excitement of it, the thrill of it.”

“When I began playing the game, baseball was about as gentlemanly as a kick in the crotch.”

***

Satchel Paige

          Born: 1906 – Mobil, Alabama

          Major league earned run average 3.29

          First major major league game played at age 42 

          Last major league game played at age 59 

Satchel Paige

Satchel Paige Quotations:

“Work like you don’t need the money. Love like you’ve never been hurt. Dance like nobody’s watching.”  

“Age is a case of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it don’t matter.”

“My pitching philosophy is simple – keep the ball way from the bat.”

***

OUTTAKES

Babe Ruth

Friends

Mel Ott 1

Ty Cobb 1

Satchel Paige 1

THE END

